Finite Dreams 0.1.23

5 08 2008

I’ve recently taken on some 3d programming with a set of libraries called “panda3d“.  They’re quite nice, and I’ve been impressed with it all so far.  The main interfacing language is Python, although many of the libraries themselves are written in C++, for speed’s sake.

Ever since (about) highschool, I had this vision of creating my own RPG.  Originally, my naive idea was to make a sequel to the beloved SNES game Chrono Trigger, but then it hit me one that day that…

A) I’d be an idiot for trying to make a “sequel” to a copyrighted video game produced by a largely successful company based out of Japan

B) I felt silly for trying to be “new” and “on the edge of discovery” while only (at best) attempting to extend the ideas of a genius other than I.

C) You don’t just “make a sequel” to your favorite video game.  That’s childish.

While all of the above sound pretty similar in nature, all three hit me differently, and I ultimately decided to completely redo the “story” that I had invented.  I had been drawing characters for use in the game for a long time, yet I still decided that even those needed a make over.

And over the next 3 years, the idea for Finite Dreams (FD) had been in the making.  (The name is kind of tentative, since I came up with it a while back, and I don’t think that I like it much anymore.)  Games from all over the spectrum (a few of the more relevant examples: Kingdom Hearts, Dark Cloud 2, and Final Fantasy XII) had developed ideas at the same time as myself, and I constantly found myself playing a brand new game that had come up with my ideas before I had.  *grr*

But now, I’m creating “my” game.  I’m not recreating someone else’s ideas, or implamenting them differently, or even doing them “better” than in some other game.  I’m making my own ideas, and it’s coming along nicely…  Unfortunately for me, I had to begin learning Python, but now I love it.  It makes me *hate* Java all the more.  *shudder*  ooooOoooOOOo, Java, how I loathe you.  But the guys at work hear me rant enough about Java, so I shan’t do it here.

I’ll be sure to post some actual content eventually.  For now, I’m getting the engine up and running.  While I’m a one-man team, I do hope to make some good progress, even if it takes me ages.  I’m an artist, muscian, programmer, modeler, and storywriter, all wrapped up into one.  I love every single one of those elements.  I can’t wait to hit every milestone along the way.

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 08 2008
bongotastic

Hi, I recognize you from the Panda3D forum. Good luck with your project. Learning python is the easy part! Keeping the motivation to take your project to completion is the hard one!

6 08 2008
tonightslastsong

I hear you–I’m hoping to stay pretty motivated all the way through! Great to see you so far away from the panda forums!

See you around 😉

4 03 2009
p

i must admit that i was slightly freaked out by your article.. but then on the second thought, there must be more then two people on this blue earth who always wanted to make their own “perfect” rpg, who have, playing ffxii or fallout 3, recognized “their own” ideas from years aggo, realized in a commercial game, etc.
unlike you, i haven’t even started yet.. i have a head full of ideas for the game, which have been sedimenting, maturing and fermenting for years now.. i also have a bunch of sketches and notes, but that’s as far as i went in “materializing” it all..
it just happens that at the time being i have a lot of free time on my hands and, will probably have it for some time, so.. i kind of decided to- get started with this project which i never took seriously enough but always wanted to.. i started writing the “screenplay” or whatever you call the equivalent in the game development world.. i’m pretty good at writing (in my native language) and it’s more enjoyable than i expected).. the graphics are not a problem for me because i am a long time 3d graphics professional..
and then there is- PROGRAMMING.. which i have never ever touched in my life.. apart from a year of secondary school informatics in the mid nineties which i barely passed.. googleing for “solutions” i stumbled upon panda, and i gather i should start learning python.. i hope i won’t get instantly discouraged by it.. i suppose i should get one of them python for dummies books or something.. my goal is also to be a one man team and have no commercial aspirations nor funding.. bla..
good luck with finite dreams!!
p

4 03 2009
tonightslastsong

That sounds excellent 🙂 Python is a pretty easy language to learn, compared to others. A coaching book would be good, though I have pretty much picked it up from internet sites.

I would HIGHLY recommend reading on the concept of “object-oriented”. Even if you’re familiar with it in the 3d sense, it’ll definitely serve you well to firmly understand the concepts for Python programming. It’s by no means unique to Python, but Python was built on the idea that it would be “OO” (object oriented). My free time has been limited recently (doing some web development for a all-original music community), but I’m right there with you when it comes to enjoying the project of writing a game/program like that!

Very best of luck! I would also highly recommend that you keep a set of blog entries in a category as you learn what you’re doing with Panda/Python. I get a significant amount of traffic on my blog from people looking for solutions to tasks. Often, it’s easy stuff, but it’s helpful for those who are trying to either remember how to do something, or if they need a jump-start for the conceptual base they should work from.

I’m interested in how things progress for you! Keep me posted, by all means! I share that one-man team vision 🙂 I’m of the firm opinion that a single person can have amazing ideas when left untainted by others.

Best of luck to you.

4 03 2009
tonightslastsong

That sounds excellent 🙂 Python is a pretty easy language to learn, compared to others. A coaching book would be good, though I have pretty much picked it up from internet sites.

I would HIGHLY recommend reading on the concept of “object-oriented”. Even if you’re familiar with it in the 3d sense (instances of models, etc), it’ll definitely serve you well to firmly understand the concepts for Python programming. It’s by no means unique to Python, but Python was built on the idea that it would be “OO” (object oriented). My free time has been limited recently (doing some web development for a all-original music community), but I’m right there with you when it comes to enjoying the project of writing a game/program like that!

Very best of luck! I would also highly recommend that you keep a set of simple, short blog entries in a category as you learn what you’re doing with Panda/Python. I get a significant amount of traffic on my blog from people looking for solutions to tasks. Often, it’s easy stuff, but it’s helpful for those who are trying to either remember how to do something, or if they need a jump-start for the conceptual base they should work from.

I’m interested in how things progress for you! Keep me posted, by all means! I share that one-man team vision 🙂 I’m of the firm opinion that a single person can have amazing ideas when left untainted by others.

Best of luck to you.

Leave a Reply

